top of page

The Get To Know Me Tag!

Updated: Mar 5, 2023



Rules:

Link back to the person who created the tag: Savannah

Thank the person who tagged you: Brian Stansell, Rose

Tag eleven bloggers

Share the tag graphic (above)


Questions:


VITALS AND APPEARANCE

Name: Neasa (I don't care how you pronounce it, at this rate far too many people have butchered it).

Nickname: Um - well Loch Neasa Monster was once a thing I guess...

Birthday: It's the date a certain beloved Marvel superhero passed away.

Hair color and length: Light brown, sometimes with goldie highlights. Falls to my shoulder blades.

Eye Color: Brown - mud brown would be the right definition.

Braces, piercings, tattoos: Never, one on each ear, and someday perhaps.

Righty or Lefty: I'm a regular right.

Ethnicity: Irish and German.


FIRSTS

First novel written: Umm - I'm writing it.

First novel completed: NEVER completed one EVER.

Award for writing: Ahh let's see - an author competition where I won some merchandise, a European history project competition, and I guess that one time I did well in college exams and got a scholarship award. Probably doesn't count.

Publication: An article here and there.

Conference: I live in isolation. Conferences do not exist.

Query/pitch: None.


FAVOURITES

Novel that you wrote: Quite possibly the Lorcán novella - only wrote a couple thousand words so far but it is an origin story that holds ALL the answers. That man has really taken over my life and I should be worried but I'm not HAHAHA!

Genre: Fantasy. Not that I've actually read a lot of good fantasy. Most of it is rubbish.

Author: At the moment, Marissa Meyer, Rebecca Ross, Brigid Kemmerer, Intisar Khanani.

Music to write to: Film scores, epic trailer music, slowed and reverbed remixes, inspirational anthems, lofi... It really just depends what mood I'm in. The unlikeliest song could inspire the most random scene ever. You can check out some of my public playlists here, then you will see just how random they are.

Time to write: Afternoon usually.

Writing snack/drink: Tea/coffee and anything sugary.

Movie: It's never just one, it's always a few - Dune (the new one of course), The Prince of Egypt, Howl's Moving Castle, Hacksaw Ridge, Princess Mononoke.

Writing Memory: Getting praise from a journalist during a writing workshop. That truly was one of my proudest moments.

Childhood book: All of Gwyneth Rees' fairy books. They had me convinced fairies were 100% real.


CURRENTLY

Reading: Beren and Luthien by J.R.R. Tolkien, Temeraire by Naomi Novik.

Writing: TLC aside - college essays on contemporary media, early Irish Christianity, and good old Latin translations. Plus a screenplay or two. Just my cup of tea.

Listening to: Evan Call's "Violet Evergarden" Piano Arrange Album: Though Seasons Change

Watching: A bit of Young Sheldon here and there, rewatching Violet Evergarden, plodding through My Hero Academia, plus the Alien films (which are actually much scarier that I thought haha).

Learning: The wonders of the Latin language, old Irish culture, the creation story of Middle-Earth via podcast (because reading the Silmarillion is - another task altogether), negative character arcs, worldbuilding - basically anything that will help me make the best stories I am capable of.


FUTURE

Want to be published: Like the whole TLC series, plus the novellas and world-building extras. Maybe the last part is too arrogant for my own good. I also have some ideas for fairytale retellings like a PG Game of Thrones-esque Snow White and a science fiction reimagining of the Iliad. In short, I would love to publish a good few fantasy novels in the future.

Indie or traditional: My biggest dilemma! Traditional is the easier (and less expensive) option for me, but indie sounds so appealing. I would prefer to have 100% control over my material, but I would need the money for it...

Wildest Goal: Honestly...? Find a dragon egg and raise the dragon as my own! Trust me, it's going to happen.


Tags:




And anyone who I forgot to mention. To be honest, at this rate it looks like EVERYONE'S done it now, so I don't think it matters anymore...

23 views0 comments
bottom of page